Theranos, Inc.: leadership, investors, partners and proceedings, 2003–2026
Theranos: participants and roles
Officers, directors, investors, partners, lenders, regulators, prosecutors, litigants and successor entities connected with Theranos, Inc., with the period and source of each role.
Solid line: documented. Amber dashed: reported. Grey dotted: hypothesis. One arrow: the relationship as stated; two arrows: reciprocal; no arrow: symmetric. A path between two parties does not transfer an allegation from one to the other.
every party and relationship in full, as text ↓
Information markers
- A3 · SEC fraud charges settled without admitting or denying them (2018) — Elizabeth Holmes
- A5 · CMS sanctions on the Newark laboratory (2016), resolved by settlement (2017) — Theranos, Inc.
- A6 · FDA Form 483 inspection observations at the Newark site (2015) — Theranos, Inc.
- A7 · Arizona Attorney General consumer-fraud suit; denied, consent decree (2017) — Theranos, Inc.
- A8 · Walgreens contract suits (2016, settled 2017; 2018, $5 million judgment) — Theranos, Inc.
- A9 · Partner Fund investor suits in Delaware (2016-2017), settled and dismissed — Elizabeth Holmes
- A10 · Indirect-investor class action, N.D. Cal. (2016); class certification denied (2018) — Ramesh Balwani
- A11 · Arizona patient class action (2016); settled by all defendants except Holmes (2024) — Walgreen Arizona Drug Co.
- A12 · Default under the Fortress loan and assignment for the benefit of creditors (2018) — Theranos, Inc.
- A1 · Convicted of investor fraud (2022); affirmed on appeal (2025); sentence reduced (2026) — Elizabeth Holmes
- A13 · Excluded from federal health care programs for 90 years (2023); upheld (2025-2026) — Elizabeth Holmes
- A2 · Convicted on twelve fraud counts (2022); affirmed (2025); certiorari denied (2026) — Ramesh Balwani
- A4 · SEC fraud charges (2018); case related to SEC v. Holmes, outcome not in the record — Ramesh Balwani
- A15 · Partner Fund investor suit in Delaware (2016), settled and dismissed (2017) — Ramesh Balwani
- A14 · Excluded from federal health care programs for 90 years after conviction — Ramesh Balwani
Markers apply only to the named participant. They do not transfer allegations to connected parties.
Participants 87
Subject
- Theranos, Inc. also known as RealTime Cures, Inc. · Theranos
Leadership
- Elizabeth Holmes Founder; chief executive officer 2003-2018 and chair of the board also known as Elizabeth A. Holmes · Elizabeth Anne Holmes
- Ramesh Balwani President and chief operating officer 2009-2016 also known as Sunny Balwani · Ramesh "Sunny" Balwani
- David Taylor
- Heather King
- Channing Robertson
- George P. Shultz also known as George Shultz · George Pratt Shultz
- Henry A. Kissinger also known as Henry Kissinger
- William J. Perry also known as Bill Perry · William Perry
- Sam Nunn also known as Samuel Nunn
- William H. Frist also known as Bill Frist · William Frist
- Gary Roughead
- James N. Mattis also known as James Mattis · Jim Mattis
- Richard Kovacevich also known as Dick Kovacevich · Richard M. Kovacevich
- Riley P. Bechtel also known as Riley Bechtel
- William H. Foege also known as William Foege
- David Boies
- Daniel J. Warmenhoven also known as Dan Warmenhoven · Daniel Warmenhoven
- Fabrizio Bonanni
- Sunil Dhawan
- Kingshuk Das
- Daniel Young
Group companies
- Theranos IP Company, LLC also known as TIPC
Counterparties
- Walgreen Co. also known as Walgreens
- Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc.
- WVC Investments, LLC
- Walgreen Arizona Drug Co.
- Wade Miquelon
- Safeway Inc.
- Steve Burd
- Pfizer
- U.S. Department of Defense
- Cleveland Clinic
- Capital BlueCross
- AmeriHealth Caritas
- Horizon Media, Inc.
- Draper Fisher Jurvetson
- ATA Ventures
- Rupert Murdoch also known as Keith Rupert Murdoch
- Larry Ellison also known as Lawrence J. Ellison
- Betsy DeVos
- BlueCross BlueShield
- Partner Investments, L.P.
- Partner Fund Management, LLC
- PFM Healthcare Master Fund, L.P.
- PFM Healthcare Principals Fund, L.P.
- PFM Funds
- RDV Corporation
- Peer Ventures Group
- Peer Ventures Group IV, LP
- Lucas Venture Group
- Lucas Venture Group XI, LLC
- Lucas Venture Group IV, LP
- Black Diamond Ventures
- Black Diamond Ventures XII-B, LLC
- Celadon Technology Fund VII, LLC
- Moseley Family Holdings
- Mendenhall TF Partners
- Hall Group
- Fortress Investment Group LLC also known as Fortress
- Fortress Credit Corp.
Historical
- J. Casey McGlynn
- Donald L. Lucas also known as Donald Leo Lucas
- Robert B. Shapiro also known as Robert Shapiro
- T. Peter Thomas
- Avie Tevanian also known as Avadis Tevanian, Jr.
- Adam Rosendorff
- Mark Pandori
- Lynette Sawyer
Other
- Theranos (assignment for the benefit of creditors), LLC also known as Theranos ABC
- Labrador Diagnostics LLC
- BioFire Diagnostics, LLC
- bioMérieux S.A.
- Michael A. Maidy
- Bechtel Group, Inc.
- Oracle Corporation
- Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP
- CommerceBid.com, Inc.
- Commerce One, Inc.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
- United States (U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of California)
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- HHS Office of Inspector General
- Arizona Attorney General's Office
- Haemanthus
- Billy Evans
Relationship register 140
- Elizabeth Holmes to Theranos, Inc.Founderdocumented · 2003 · historical
- Elizabeth Holmes to Theranos, Inc.President (signed the 2004 restated certificate and the 2010 Form D as President)documented · Recorded on December 15, 2004 and July 8, 2010 · historical
- Elizabeth Holmes to Theranos, Inc.Chief executive officerdocumented · 2003 to June 15, 2018 · historical
- Elizabeth Holmes to Theranos, Inc.Director and chair of the boarddocumented · Director in the Form D filings of July 2010 and May 2017; chair by 2013 and until at least June 2018 · historical
- Elizabeth Holmes to Theranos, Inc.Owner of record of the Newark clinical laboratory (CLIA 05D2025714) in CMS correspondencedocumented · As of 2016 · historical
- Ramesh Balwani to Theranos, Inc.President and chief operating officerdocumented · September 2009 to May 2016 (July 2016 in a 2022 DOJ release) · historical
- Ramesh Balwani to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Listed in the July 2010 Form D; left the board in May 2016 · historical
- Ramesh Balwani to Theranos, Inc.Guarantor of a company line of creditdocumented · 2009 · historical
- Ramesh Balwani to Theranos, Inc.Owner of record of the Newark clinical laboratory (CLIA 05D2025714) in CMS correspondencedocumented · As of 2016 · historical
- Ramesh Balwani and Elizabeth HolmesRomantic partners (2004 to 2016 according to the Ninth Circuit)documented · 2004 to 2016 · historical
- David Taylor to Theranos, Inc.General counsel; chief executive officer and general counsel from June 15, 2018documented · General counsel 2016 to 2018; CEO from June 15, 2018 through the September 2018 wind-down · historical
- Heather King to Theranos, Inc.General counseldocumented · Appointed May 7, 2015; still general counsel in November 2015 · historical
- J. Casey McGlynn to Theranos, Inc.Secretary (signed the California statement recording the 2004 name change)documented · Statement filed in early 2005 (Delaware certified copy dated January 6, 2005) · historical
- Donald L. Lucas to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · As of July 2010 (Form D) · historical
- Channing Robertson to Theranos, Inc.Director (described as the company's first board member)documented · Listed as a director in the July 2010 Form D; not among the directors in the 2013-2015 Florida reports; an online encyclopaedia says he served until 2018 (unconfirmed) · historical
- Channing Robertson to Theranos, Inc.Paid adviser (about $463,000 from March 2015 to February 2016, according to an online encyclopaedia)reported · March 2015 to February 2016 · historical
- Channing Robertson and Elizabeth HolmesStanford professor who taught Holmes and helped her start Theranos (online encyclopaedia account)reported · 2003 · historical
- Robert B. Shapiro to Theranos, Inc.Director (early board member)documented · As of July 2010 (Form D) · historical
- T. Peter Thomas to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · As of July 2010 (Form D) · historical
- Avie Tevanian to Theranos, Inc.Directorreported · 2006 to late 2007 (reported) · historical
- George P. Shultz to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · From July 2011; listed in the Florida reports of 2013 to 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- Henry A. Kissinger to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Listed in the Florida reports of 2013 to 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- William J. Perry to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Listed in the Florida reports of 2013 to 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- Sam Nunn to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Listed in the Florida reports of 2013 to 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- William H. Frist to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Joined between July 2013 and August 2014; listed in the Florida reports of 2014 and 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- Gary Roughead to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Listed in the Florida reports of 2013 to 2015; moved to the board of counselors in 2015 (company account) · historical
- James N. Mattis to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · From July 2013 (company release) to December 16, 2016 · historical
- Richard Kovacevich to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · From July 2013 (company release) to 2015, and again from May 2016; still listed in December 2016 · historical
- Riley P. Bechtel to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Joined between July 2013 and August 2014; retired on December 1, 2016 · historical
- William H. Foege to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · Joined between July 2013 and August 2014 and served to 2015; again from May 2016; listed in May 2017 and still on the company website in March 2018 · historical
- David Boies to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · From 2015 (reported in October 2015; February 2016 according to an online encyclopaedia); still listed in December 2016 · historical
- Daniel J. Warmenhoven to Theranos, Inc.Directordocumented · From December 1, 2016; listed in the May 2017 Form D · historical
- Fabrizio Bonanni to Theranos, Inc.Director; chair of the Compliance and Quality Committeedocumented · From May 2016; listed in the May 2017 Form D · historical
- George P. Shultz to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · 2015 to January 1, 2017 · historical
- Henry A. Kissinger to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · 2015 to January 1, 2017 · historical
- William J. Perry to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · Member by 2016; counselors retired January 1, 2017 · historical
- Sam Nunn to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · 2015 to January 1, 2017 · historical
- William H. Frist to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · Member by 2016; counselors retired January 1, 2017 · historical
- Gary Roughead to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · Member by December 2016; counselors retired January 1, 2017 · historical
- Richard Kovacevich to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · 2015 to May 2016 · historical
- William H. Foege to Theranos, Inc.Member of the board of counselors (advisory)documented · 2015 to May 2016 · historical
- William H. Foege to Theranos, Inc.Member of the Scientific and Medical Advisory Boarddocumented · As of May 2016 · historical
- Henry A. Kissinger to Theranos, Inc.Paid consultant ($500,000 a year, according to Holmes's testimony)reported · Period not stated · historical
- James N. Mattis to Theranos, Inc.Investor ($85,000, according to his testimony)reported · Period not stated · historical
- Richard Kovacevich to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $4,149,990)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- David Boies to Theranos, Inc.Reported agreement to be paid in Theranos stock for his firm's legal work; no holding documentedreported · Period not stated · historical
- David Boies to Theranos, Inc.Outside counseldocumented · 2011 to November 2016 · historical
- Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP to Theranos, Inc.Law firm acting for Theranos (Theranos a client of the firm)documented · Until November 2016 · historical
- Heather King to Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLPLitigation partner in the Washington, D.C. officedocumented · Until May 2015 · historical
- David Boies to Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLPFounder and chairmandocumented · From 1997 · current or historical not established
- George P. Shultz to Bechtel Group, Inc.Director; former presidentdocumented · Director as of October 2001; president for eight years earlier · historical
- Riley P. Bechtel to Bechtel Group, Inc.Director from 1987; president and CEO 1990-2014; chairman 1996 to April 2017; then non-executive directordocumented · From August 1987 · current or historical not established
- Daniel J. Warmenhoven to Bechtel Group, Inc.Directordocumented · As of December 2016 · current or historical not established
- Daniel J. Warmenhoven and Riley P. BechtelFellow Bechtel Group directors; Warmenhoven met Holmes through Bechtel and replaced him on the Theranos board (reported)reported · As of December 2016 · current or historical not established
- Donald L. Lucas to Oracle CorporationDirector from March 1980; chairman of the board October 1980 to March 1990documented · From 1980 (as of 1999) · historical
- Larry Ellison to Oracle CorporationChairman of the board and chief executive officerdocumented · As of 1999 · historical
- T. Peter Thomas to ATA VenturesManaging director of ATA Management I, LLC, general partner of ATA Ventures I, L.P.documented · As of February 2011 · current or historical not established
- Sunil Dhawan to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory director, Newark laboratory (CLIA 05D2025714)documented · From November 2014 until March 11, 2016 · historical
- Sunil Dhawan to Ramesh BalwaniRecruited by Balwani, who knew him personally, as laboratory director (trial testimony)reported · 2014 · historical
- Kingshuk Das to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory director, Newark laboratorydocumented · Laboratory director from March 2016 (regulatory duties from March 11, 2016); at Theranos until June 2018 (trial reporting) · historical
- Adam Rosendorff to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory director (former; reportedly replaced by Dhawan in 2014)documented · Until 2014 (reported) · historical
- Mark Pandori to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory director (former)documented · Period not stated · historical
- Lynette Sawyer to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory co-director named on the licence (trial evidence)reported · From November 2014 · historical
- Daniel Young to Theranos, Inc.Laboratory director, Scottsdale laboratory (CLIA 03D2077896)documented · As of 2017 (CMS registry) · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Walgreen Co.Testing partner: Theranos Wellness Centers in Walgreens stores under the 2010 and 2012 agreements; received a $100 million Innovation Feedocumented · July 30, 2010 to termination on June 12, 2016 · historical details →
- Walgreen Co. to Theranos, Inc.Investor: $40 million convertible note (bought through WVC Investments); restitution award of $40 milliondocumented · From June 5, 2012 · historical
- WVC Investments, LLC to Theranos, Inc.Holder of the $40 million convertible note (debt convertible into equity)documented · From June 5, 2012 · historical
- Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc. to Walgreen Co.Corporate parentdocumented · As of July 2018 · current or historical not established
- Walgreen Co. to WVC Investments, LLCParent (wholly owned subsidiary)documented · As of August 31, 2012 · current or historical not established
- Walgreen Co. to Walgreen Arizona Drug Co.Parent of the group (indirect, through Walgreens Hastings Co.)documented · As of August 31, 2012 · current or historical not established
- Wade Miquelon to WVC Investments, LLCPresident (signed the convertible note)documented · June 2012 · historical
- Wade Miquelon to Walgreen Co.Chief financial officer (former)reported · Finance chief at the time of the 2010 meetings (trial testimony) · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Safeway Inc.Testing partner under a 2010 Master Purchase Agreement for clinics in Safeway stores (program code-named T-Rex, reported)documented · 2010 to 2015 · historical
- Safeway Inc. to Theranos, Inc.Investor (more than $10 million reported; restitution award of $14.5 million)documented · Period not stated · historical
- Steve Burd to Safeway Inc.Chief executive (led Safeway for more than 20 years)documented · Until his retirement in 2013 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to PfizerResearch partnership to study Theranos technology; no meaningful dealings after 2008documented · 2008 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to U.S. Department of DefenseRelationship to explore battlefield use of the Edison device (never fielded)documented · Period not stated · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Cleveland ClinicStrategic alliancedocumented · 2015 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Capital BlueCrossPartnership for direct-to-consumer blood testing for its enrolleesdocumented · Announced July 2015 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to AmeriHealth CaritasLaboratory provider in Pennsylvania (start-up data publisher)reported · Period not stated · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Horizon Media, Inc.Advertising customer ($1,126,661 paid on August 3, 2015 for Wellness Center advertisements)documented · August 2015 · historical
- Draper Fisher Jurvetson to Theranos, Inc.Investor (led the June 2004 seed round, according to start-up funding data)reported · From 2004 · historical
- ATA Ventures to Theranos, Inc.Investor (led the 2006 Series B, according to start-up funding data)reported · 2006 · historical
- Rupert Murdoch to Theranos, Inc.Investor: $125 million stake, sold back to Theranos for $1 in 2017 (reported); restitution award of $124,999,997documented · Until March 2017 · historical
- Larry Ellison to Theranos, Inc.Investor (reported)reported · Period not stated · historical
- Betsy DeVos to Theranos, Inc.Investor (reported)reported · Period not stated · historical
- BlueCross BlueShield to Theranos, Inc.Investor (reported)reported · Period not stated · historical
- Partner Investments, L.P. to Theranos, Inc.Investordocumented · Before October 2016 · historical
- Partner Fund Management, LLC to Theranos, Inc.Investor (according to start-up funding data)reported · Period not stated · historical
- Partner Fund Management, LLC to Partner Investments, L.P.General partnerdocumented · As of February 2014 · current or historical not established
- RDV Corporation to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $99,999,984)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Peer Ventures Group to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $93,499,912)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- PFM Funds to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $52,639,998)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Lucas Venture Group to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $7,570,005)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Moseley Family Holdings to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $5,999,997)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Black Diamond Ventures to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $5,349,900)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Hall Group to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $1,875,000)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Mendenhall TF Partners to Theranos, Inc.Investor (restitution award of $1,312,500)documented · Investment period not stated · historical
- Lucas Venture Group XI, LLC to Theranos, Inc.Shareholder: 471,333 Series C-1 shares; took part in the 2016-2017 exchange and released its claimsdocumented · From the C-1 round (2013) · historical
- Peer Ventures Group IV, LP to Theranos, Inc.Fund holding Theranos stock; took part in the 2016-2017 exchange and released its claimsdocumented · Period not stated · historical
- Lucas Venture Group IV, LP to Theranos, Inc.Fund holding or buying Theranos stockdocumented · Period not stated · historical
- Black Diamond Ventures XII-B, LLC to Theranos, Inc.Fund holding Theranos stock; took part in the 2016-2017 exchange and released its claimsdocumented · Period not stated · historical
- Celadon Technology Fund VII, LLC to Theranos, Inc.Shareholder: bought 410,000 Series C Preferred shares from another investordocumented · From December 15, 2015 · historical
- Fortress Investment Group LLC to Theranos, Inc.Lender: term loan of late 2017 secured on the patent portfolio (reported as a $100 million facility with $65 million drawn); in default by September 2018documented · December 2017 to September 2018 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Fortress Investment Group LLCTransferred its interest in the patent subsidiary and the patents to Fortress in the September 2018 settlement (reported)reported · September 2018 · historical
- Theranos, Inc. to Theranos IP Company, LLCSole owner of the special purpose subsidiary and assignor of 284 patent properties to it (December 11, 2017)documented · December 2017 to September 2018 · historical
- Theranos IP Company, LLC to Fortress Credit Corp.Granted a security interest in 284 patent propertiesdocumented · From December 11, 2017 · current or historical not established
- Fortress Investment Group LLC to Theranos IP Company, LLCTook ownership of the patent subsidiary after Theranos defaulted (reported)reported · From 2018 · current or historical not established
- Theranos IP Company, LLC to Labrador Diagnostics LLCReportedly renamed Labrador Diagnostics LLC in March 2020 (law-review account)reported · From March 2020 · historical
- Fortress Investment Group LLC to Labrador Diagnostics LLCControls the renamed patent holder (law-review account)reported · From March 2020 · current or historical not established
- Theranos, Inc. to Theranos (assignment for the benefit of creditors), LLCAssigned all its assets and liabilities to the assignee for the benefit of creditors (General Assignment)documented · From September 12, 2018; the assignee was still acting in 2023-2024 · current or historical not established
- Michael A. Maidy to Theranos (assignment for the benefit of creditors), LLCManagerdocumented · As of September 2023 · current or historical not established
- Walgreen Co. to Theranos (assignment for the benefit of creditors), LLCCreditor: general unsecured claim filed March 11, 2019, allowed at $45,000,000 in the 2023 settlementdocumented · From March 11, 2019 · current or historical not established
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff: civil fraud action SEC v. Holmes and Theranos (N.D. Cal. 5:18-cv-01602), settled; final judgment March 27, 2018documented · Investigation reported in 2016; action March 14-27, 2018 · historical
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to Elizabeth HolmesPlaintiff: civil fraud action SEC v. Holmes and Theranos, settled without admitting or denying the allegations; $500,000 penalty and 10-year officer and director bardocumented · March 14-27, 2018 (bar for 10 years) · historical
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission to Ramesh BalwaniPlaintiff: civil fraud action SEC v. Balwani (N.D. Cal. 5:18-cv-01603); outcome not documented in the recorddocumented · From March 14, 2018 · current or historical not established
- United States (U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of California) to Elizabeth HolmesProsecution (5:18-cr-00258-EJD): convicted on four investor counts and acquitted on four patient counts; 135-month sentence, reduced to 10¼ years in 2026documented · Indicted June 14, 2018; convicted January 3, 2022; affirmed 2025 · historical
- United States (U.S. Attorney's Office, Northern District of California) to Ramesh BalwaniProsecution (5:18-cr-00258-EJD): convicted on all twelve counts; 155-month sentence; certiorari denied October 5, 2026documented · Indicted June 14, 2018; convicted July 7, 2022; final October 5, 2026 · historical
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to Theranos, Inc.CLIA regulator: survey and sanctions on the Newark laboratory (2015-2016), sanctions on the Scottsdale laboratory (2017); settlement April 2017documented · November 2015 to April 2017 · historical
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration to Theranos, Inc.Inspected the Newark device-manufacturing site and issued a Form FDA-483documented · August 25 to September 16, 2015 · historical
- Arizona Attorney General's Office to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff: Arizona Consumer Fraud Act suit, resolved by consent decree ($4,652,000 restitution); allegations denieddocumented · April 2017; refunds from December 2017 · historical
- HHS Office of Inspector General to Elizabeth HolmesExcluded her from federal health care programs for 90 yearsdocumented · From December 29, 2023 (upheld 2025 and January 16, 2026) · current at the evidence cutoff
- HHS Office of Inspector General to Ramesh BalwaniExcluded him from federal health care programs for 90 yearsdocumented · Before January 2024 · current at the evidence cutoff
- Partner Investments, L.P. to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff in Delaware Chancery suits against Theranos and its officers and directors; settled May 2017documented · October 2016 to May 2017 · historical
- PFM Healthcare Master Fund, L.P. to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff in Delaware Chancery suits against Theranos and its officers and directors; settled May 2017documented · October 2016 to May 2017 · historical
- PFM Healthcare Principals Fund, L.P. to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff in Delaware Chancery suits against Theranos and its officers and directors; settled May 2017documented · October 2016 to May 2017 · historical
- Walgreen Co. to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff: breach-of-contract suit (D. Del. 16-1040), settled August 2017documented · November 8, 2016 to August 2017 · historical
- Walgreen Co. to Theranos, Inc.Plaintiff: second suit (D. Del. 1:2018cv00989); $5,000,000 judgmentdocumented · July 2 to October 1, 2018 · historical
- Labrador Diagnostics LLC to BioFire Diagnostics, LLCPlaintiff: patent infringement suit (D. Del. 1:20-cv-00348), voluntarily dismisseddocumented · March 9 to June 28, 2020 · historical
- Labrador Diagnostics LLC to bioMérieux S.A.Plaintiff: patent infringement suit (D. Del. 1:20-cv-00348), voluntarily dismisseddocumented · March 9 to June 28, 2020 · historical
- bioMérieux S.A. to BioFire Diagnostics, LLCParent (BioFire described as a wholly owned subsidiary)documented · As of March 2020 · current or historical not established
- Ramesh Balwani to CommerceBid.com, Inc.President and principal shareholderdocumented · Until the 1999 merger into Commerce One · historical
- Ramesh Balwani to Commerce One, Inc.Announced to join the executive management team under the 1999 merger agreement (his CommerceBid shares to be exchanged for Commerce One stock)documented · Announced November 1999 · historical
- Commerce One, Inc. to CommerceBid.com, Inc.Acquirer under a November 1999 merger agreement (CommerceBid to become a wholly owned subsidiary)documented · From November 1999 · historical
- Billy Evans to HaemanthusFounder and chief executivereported · Chief executive since 2022 (self-described); incorporated in Delaware by 2024 (accounts differ) · current at the evidence cutoff
- Elizabeth Holmes to HaemanthusInformal adviser from prison (reported; the company says she has no formal role)reported · Reported in 2025 · current or historical not established
- Elizabeth Holmes and Billy EvansPersonal partners (reported); Haemanthus says Holmes has no formal role in the companyreported · Reported in 2025-2026 · current at the evidence cutoff
chronology
- Elizabeth Holmes founds Theranos c-id-founding-date c-ld-holmes-ceo
- RealTime Cures, Inc. is incorporated in Delaware c-id-incorporation
- RealTime Cures, Inc. becomes Theranos, Inc. c-id-incorporation
- Balwani guarantees a credit line and becomes President and Chief Operating Officer c-ld-balwani-guarantee c-ld-balwani-tenure
- Safeway signs a Master Purchase Agreement with Theranos for testing in its stores c-prt-safeway-2010
- Theranos files a Form D reporting $45 million sold of a $100 million offering c-fin-form-d-2010 c-ld-form-d-2010-persons
- Theranos and Walgreens sign their first Master Services Agreement c-wag-2010-agreement
- George Shultz joins the board c-ld-shultz-joins
- Walgreens and Theranos sign the 2012 Master Services Agreement, which provides for a $40 million convertible note c-wag-msa-2012 c-wag-note-wvc
- First Wellness Center opens in a Walgreens store in Phoenix c-wag-pilot
- Theranos announces the Wellness Center roll-out in Walgreens stores c-wag-pilot
- Class B shares give Holmes over 99 percent of the voting power c-fin-class-b
- FDA inspection of the Newark site ends with a Form 483 c-lab-fda-483
- CMS completes its survey of the Newark laboratory c-lab-cms-survey
- CMS notifies Theranos of immediate jeopardy in hematology c-lab-cms-survey
- Walgreens sends a notice of breach c-wag-breach-notice
- CMS proposes revoking the Newark laboratory certificate c-lab-cms-proposed
- Theranos announces Balwani's retirement and three new directors c-ld-may-2016 c-ld-balwani-tenure
- Walgreens terminates the agreement; it then closes the Wellness Centers c-wag-breach-notice
- CMS imposes sanctions including revocation of the Newark certificate c-lab-cms-sanctions
- Partner Fund investors sue in the Delaware Court of Chancery c-civ-delaware-suits
- Walgreen Co. sues Theranos in Delaware c-wag-suit-2016
- Indirect-investor class action is filed against Theranos, Holmes and Balwani c-civ-indirect-class
- Warmenhoven joins the board; the board of counselors is to be retired c-ld-dec-2016
- Theranos settles with CMS and the Arizona Attorney General c-lab-cms-settlement c-lab-az-ag
- Partner Fund suits settled; exchange offer to preferred holders c-civ-delaware-suits c-fin-form-d-2017
- Theranos announces its settlement with Walgreens c-wag-settlement-2017
- Patents assigned to Theranos IP Company and pledged to Fortress Credit Corp. c-wd-patent-assignment c-wd-security-interest
- SEC charges Theranos, Holmes and Balwani; Theranos and Holmes settle c-sec-charges c-sec-settlement
- Holmes and Balwani are indicted c-crim-indictment-2018
- Holmes steps down as CEO; David Taylor takes over c-ld-taylor-ceo
- Theranos assigns its assets for the benefit of creditors c-wd-general-assignment
- Walgreens obtains a $5,000,000 judgment in its second suit c-wag-suit-2018
- Labrador Diagnostics sues BioFire and bioMérieux on Theranos patents c-wd-labrador-suit c-wd-tipc-patents-2020
- Third superseding indictment c-crim-superseding
- Jury convicts Holmes on four investor counts and acquits her on four patient counts c-crim-holmes-verdict
- Jury convicts Balwani on all twelve counts c-crim-balwani-verdict
- Holmes is sentenced to 135 months c-crim-holmes-sentence
- Balwani is sentenced to 155 months c-crim-balwani-sentence
- Court orders $452,047,268 in restitution c-crim-restitution
- HHS-OIG excludes Holmes from federal health care programs for 90 years c-exc-holmes
- Final approval of the Arizona patient class settlements c-civ-arizona-settlement
- Ninth Circuit affirms both convictions, the sentences and the restitution order c-crim-ninth-circuit
- Departmental Appeals Board affirms Holmes's exclusion c-exc-holmes
- Holmes's sentence is reduced by one year c-crim-holmes-reduction
- Supreme Court denies Balwani's petition for certiorari c-crim-balwani-cert
for clients
Need research like this?
Describe the company, question and relevant dates. Scope, timing, format and any fee are agreed before work starts.
brief us in confidence →for media
Journalists and researchers
Contact the publisher with questions about this dossier, corrections, replies or reuse.
cite this dossier
DossierTwist, “Theranos, Inc.: leadership, investors, partners and proceedings, 2003–2026”, dt.040, 26 October 2026, https://dossiertwist.com/dossiers/theranos-inc/
Free to read, cite and republish with credit under CC BY 4.0: credit “DossierTwist” and link to the dossier.
Data: JSON, CSV and the network graph.
share
We listen to all sides: responses are shown next to the claims they answer. To send a correction or a reply, write to dossiertwist@proton.me.