the questionWhat is known about the 2025 Audit Committee inquiry and the investigation that followed?
1The May 2025 resignations
analysisOn May 14, 2025 Luminar announced that Austin Russell had resigned, effective immediately, as President and Chief Executive Officer and as chair of the board, following a Code of Business Conduct and Ethics inquiry by the Audit Committee of its board. He remained a director and was to be available to the incoming chief executive on transition and technology matters. The Form 8-K did not state what the inquiry examined or what it found, and no retained record discloses its subject or conclusions. The same day director Jun Hong Heng resigned from the board with immediate effect. The company's Form 8-K states that he resigned following the Audit Committee inquiry referred to in its earlier report that day, and that his decision was not due to any disagreement with the company on any matter relating to its operations, policies or practices; the filing links the timing of his resignation to the inquiry but does not say that the inquiry concerned him. 1 2
analysisAccording to the first complaint in the 2025 securities class action, Luminar's share price fell $0.80, or 16.80%, to close at $3.96 on May 15, 2025, the trading day after the company announced Russell's resignation. The price movement and its link to the announcement are stated by the plaintiff; the court made no finding on them in the retained records. 3
sources in this section
- Luminar Technologies, Inc. Form 8-K reporting the CEO resignation and appointment (event of May 14, 2025) U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 14 May 2025
- Luminar Technologies, Inc. Form 8-K reporting a director resignation (May 2025) U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · May 2025
- Court record source · src-064 identified by category only · Court record
2The SEC investigation
analysisLuminar disclosed in its Chapter 11 disclosure statements that in September 2025 it received an SEC subpoena for documents (two subpoenas, according to the February 2026 version) in an investigation the SEC was conducting to determine whether federal securities laws had been violated. According to the company, the SEC told it that the investigation does not mean the SEC has concluded that anyone violated the law, and that receiving a subpoena does not mean the SEC has a negative opinion of any person, entity or security; the retained records do not identify the subject of the investigation or any outcome. Luminar said it was cooperating with the investigation. In its annual report for 2025 it said that it had informed the SEC about the bankruptcy and continued to cooperate, and that it could offer no assurance about the outcome of the investigation or its effect on the company. 1 2 3
sources in this section
- Disclosure statement for the joint Chapter 11 plan of Luminar Technologies, Inc. and its debtor affiliates, filed as Exhibit 99.2 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 30 Dec 2025
- Disclosure statement for the Third Amended Chapter 11 Plan of Liquidation (solicitation version), filed as Exhibit 99.2 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Feb 2026
- Luminar Technologies, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025 U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Mar 2026
3The Special Investigation Committee and its review
analysisOn November 12, 2025 the board appointed Patricia Ferrari and Elizabeth Abrams as directors and formed a Special Investigation Committee of the two, authorised to review, evaluate, pursue and settle potential claims against any current, former or future director, officer, insider, affiliate or related party. Before the Chapter 11 filing the committee retained King & Spalding LLP to assist it and the company's counsel, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, with an investigation of certain acts, omissions, transactions and potential claims involving current and former directors and officers. On November 24, 2025 the board also renamed an existing special committee the Special Transactions Committee, added Abrams and Ferrari to it and authorised it to evaluate potential transactions between Luminar or its subsidiaries and Austin Russell ("Covered Transactions"), to recommend them to the board and to oversee their negotiation and execution. Its mandate was widened to certain other transactions on December 8, 2025; its members were then Abrams, Ferrari, Mary Lou Jepsen, Katharine A. Martin, Matthew J. Simoncini and Daniel D. Tempesta. Abrams and Ferrari left office with the rest of the board when the liquidation plan took effect on April 6, 2026. 1 2
analysisThe investigation began on December 2, 2025 and was carried out with Weil and King & Spalding; according to committee member Patricia Ferrari, King & Spalding was engaged as independent counsel partly to avoid any appearance of a conflict arising from Weil's existing relationship with certain board members. It focused mainly on the period from January 1, 2021 to the Chapter 11 filing and on governance, financial and operational performance and the allegations made in litigation before the bankruptcy. The committee and its counsel obtained nearly three million documents and reviewed nearly one million, interviewed more than a dozen people, and filed a Rule 2004 motion and served a subpoena on Austin Russell (Docket No. 132). 3 4
sources in this section
- Disclosure statement for the joint Chapter 11 plan of Luminar Technologies, Inc. and its debtor affiliates, filed as Exhibit 99.2 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 30 Dec 2025
- Luminar Technologies, Inc. Form 8-K reporting plan confirmation, effectiveness and change in control (event of April 3, 2026) U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Apr 2026
- Court record source · src-042 identified by category only · Court record
- Disclosure statement for the Third Amended Chapter 11 Plan of Liquidation (solicitation version), filed as Exhibit 99.2 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Feb 2026
4The subpoena dispute with Russell
analysisIn an emergency motion filed in early January 2026 (Docket No. 132), the debtors asked the bankruptcy court to allow alternative service of a Rule 2004 subpoena on Russell, then still a director. They said that since May 19, 2025, five days after his resignation as chief executive, they had sought the return of company devices, documents and information, including on matters relating to the Audit Committee inquiry and personal loans taken by Russell; that he was withholding information and devices from the Special Investigation Committee and evading service, with his security guards misrepresenting his whereabouts to process servers, while the other directors cooperated voluntarily; and that a bid by Russell, which he had said he would make, could not be evaluated without knowing whether the estate had claims against him. These were the debtors' assertions in a contested motion, and the court did not rule on them. Russell opposed the motion on January 6, 2026, arguing that the subpoena was procedurally defective and went beyond what a Rule 2004 examination permits. In a January 2, 2026 email to the committee's counsel, which the debtors filed with their motion, he wrote that he had provided the devices requested and had offered information from his current personal devices, including a full image held by a vendor; that "any characterization that I have been uncooperative is wholly inaccurate"; and that he would not consent to open-ended imaging of, or access to, his current personal device and personal data. The parties settled the dispute in a stipulated order entered on January 20, 2026, under which Russell accepted service through his counsel, and the hearing on the motion was cancelled. 1 2 3
analysisBefore that settlement, on January 9, 2026, Judge Christopher Lopez of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas noted that Russell, a current board member, had opposed the motion on January 6 and appeared not yet to have been served, and set a hearing for January 21, 2026 that Russell, his counsel and a member of the Special Investigation Committee were ordered to attend in person (Docket No. 177). Under the stipulated order of January 20, 2026 (Docket No. 246), Russell accepted service of the subpoena by email to his counsel, with seven days to move to quash or object and otherwise fourteen days to comply, and the parties were to agree a data-handling and privacy protocol. 2 3
analysisThe schedule of requests attached to the subpoena, dated January 16, 2026, asked Russell for company devices; records of expenses he had claimed and other payments between him and the company; documents on his resignation; any arrangement under which receivables owed to Luminar were sold, assigned, pledged or otherwise transferred to him; any rights allowing him to collect payments directly from Luminar's customers; payments by the company to his personal employees; his communications with Volvo, ECARX, Zhejiang Geely, Mercedes-Benz and TPK; Audit Committee and audit materials for fiscal 2022 to 2024; and records of personal loans taken out by him or on his behalf during his time at Luminar, "including but not limited to loans from" persons the request names as Tom Fenomore, Jun Hung Hang and Chris Charlton. The requests show what the debtors asked to see, not that any such arrangement, payment or loan existed. The names are spelled as in the request; they appear to refer to former chief financial officer Thomas Fennimore, former director Jun Hong Heng and Chris Charlton, and the request does not establish that any of them lent Russell money. 3
analysisA news report of January 5, 2026 on the debtors' motion said the company had been evaluating whether it had potential claims against Russell "relating to the Audit Committee inquiry and personal loans taken by Mr. Russell", and that on New Year's Day a forensic examiner the company had arranged to send to his home was turned away by his security team. Russell said the technician had been sent "unannounced" on the holiday morning while he was asleep and that he wanted to protect the privacy of his personal data, and wrote that any characterization of him as uncooperative was "wholly inaccurate"; his lawyer told the publication that the focus remained on Russell AI Labs' bid to rebuild the company. The report relays the debtors' filing and Russell's own statements, and neither account was tested in court before the parties agreed the January 20, 2026 order. A news report of that day said Russell had agreed to accept an electronic subpoena for information on his phone related to the company; according to the report he had already handed over several computers but kept his phone because of privacy concerns, and he said in court filings that he had only one phone during his time at Luminar, whereas the company had originally sought two. The retained records do not show what was produced under the subpoena or what it showed. 4 5
sources in this section
- Court record source · src-063 identified by category only · Court record
- Court record source · src-050 identified by category only · Court record
- Court record source · src-085 identified by category only · Court record
- Media source · src-062 identified by category only · Media
- Media source · src-084 identified by category only · Media
5Committee findings and the claims preserved for the trust
analysisThe committee's advisers presented their final findings on February 7, 2026 and the committee adopted them on February 9, 2026. It concluded that the debtors had no colorable claims against their current directors and officers except Austin Russell, who was still a director, and that the persons excluded from the plan's releases (the "Non-Released Parties") would be Russell and anyone who had been a director or officer of a debtor but no longer held that position on the petition date. These were the conclusions of a committee of the debtors' board, made to decide which directors and officers the plan would release; they are not a court finding that any claim against Russell or a former officer is valid, and the retained records do not describe the facts behind them. In its order of April 3, 2026 confirming the liquidation plan (Docket No. 589), the bankruptcy court found that the independent directors on the committee had acted with independence, diligence and propriety in their investigation, and that, on the basis of that investigation and the case record, the debtors had no colorable claims against their current directors and officers other than the persons on the Non-Released Parties Schedule. 1 2 3
analysisThe plan supplement filed on March 16, 2026 (Docket No. 523) preserved the debtors' claims against insiders on the Non-Released Parties Schedule and named Austin Russell, Thomas Fennimore, Alan Prescott and Jun Hong Heng. The listed grounds include breach of fiduciary duty, corporate waste, fraud, wilful misconduct, gross negligence and the payment of unlawful dividends or other distributions, including claims arising from the facts behind any internal investigation by the debtors. Under the confirmation order, retained causes of action vest in the liquidating trust. The schedule preserves the right to sue; it does not state that any claim is valid. No suit by the debtors or the liquidating trust against these four individuals appears in the retained records, and none of them has been found liable. 4 3
sources in this section
- Court record source · src-042 identified by category only · Court record
- Disclosure statement for the Third Amended Chapter 11 Plan of Liquidation (solicitation version), filed as Exhibit 99.2 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · Feb 2026
- Findings of fact, conclusions of law and order confirming the Fourth Amended Chapter 11 Plan of Liquidation (Docket No. 589, Case No. 25-90807), filed as Exhibit 2.1 to a Form 8-K U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · 3 Apr 2026
- Court record source · src-051 identified by category only · Court record
timeline · 2025–2026
- Russell resigns as chief executive and chair after an Audit Committee inquiry; Heng leaves the board c-inq-russell-resignation c-inq-heng-resignation
- Luminar receives an SEC subpoena for documents c-inq-sec-subpoena
- Two new directors appointed and the Special Investigation Committee formed c-brd-nov-2025-appointments c-inq-sic-formed
- Luminar, LAZR Technologies and Luminar, LLC file for Chapter 11 in Houston c-ch11-petition
- Special Investigation Committee adopts its findings c-inq-sic-findings
- Bankruptcy court confirms the Fourth Amended Chapter 11 Plan of Liquidation c-ch11-confirmation
- Plan takes effect: shares cancelled, directors and officers leave, liquidating trust takes over c-ctl-cancellation c-brd-termination c-ch11-plan-trust